The Music Industry Applauds South African Talent at the 2nd Annual Wawela Music Awards


The second event attracted some big names both performing on the night and nominated in the various categories. Particularly among the special awards categories, where South Africa’s ground-breaking musicians shared the applause with legends from the past and present.

Among those recognised was the legendary “King Don Father of Kwaito”, Mandla ‘Spikiri’ Mofokeng, who was honoured in the Prolific Category of Works Award. He was recognised alongside another driving force in SA music – Chicco Twala – who picked up the Wawela Lifetime Achievement Award for the huge strides he achieved in his lengthy career. Also honoured was 73-year-old Ladysmith Black Mambazo leader and Grammy winner, Joseph Shabalala. He walked away with the Breaking Through the Borders Award, which he deservedly earned through his accomplishments promoting South Africa’s rich and diverse music abroad.

The standard category awards also recognised some stand-out musicians in a broad variety of genres and mediums. The notable winners include film score composer Philip Miller, who won Best Soundtrack in a Feature film or Theatrical Documentary for the second year running. While Joe Niemand took home the Best song or Composition in a Television Production award.

The big winner of the night was composer Adam Howard who received two awards in the categories Best Song or Composition in a Television Commercial Award and Best Song or Composition in a Radio Commercial.

Rapper HHP walked away with the Best Creative Album of the Year award for his album Motswafrika while Sheer Publishing took home the honours as the Best Publisher of the Year. Songwriter of the Year went to Mi Casa for Heavenly Sent and The Muffinz were awarded the Best South African Duo/Group award for their album Have You Heard. Singer-songwriter and poet Zahara walked away with the Best Female Artist & Composer/Co-composer and maskandi legend, Ihhashi Elimhlophe won Best Male Artist & Composer/Co-composer.

Nicholaas Labuschagne completed the list of honours with the Statistical Award For Live Performance and Broadcast.
Among the legends who shared the stage were Ladysmith Black Mambazo, Yvonne Chaka Chaka, Sipho Hostix Mabuse and PJ Powers. Who proved their talent to be undiminished as they thrilled the audience with their unmistakable sounds.


The Wawela Music Awards also took the time to poignantly mark South Africa’s 20 years of freedom and democracy with a special musical tribute performed by Yvonne Chaka Chaka, together with Trenton and Free Radical in honour of Nelson Mandela. Chaka Chaka, PJ Powers along with nominated musicians Lindiwe Maxolo and Tarryn Lamb also honoured the memory of Brenda Fassie. Performing heartfelt renditions of some of her biggest hits including Zola Budd, Weekend Special and Vuli’ndlela.


Dlamini spoke of the importance of the occasion, saying, “As we celebrate 20 years of freedom, we are proud to celebrate the role of music in the fight to attain our democracy.”

Full list of winners
Standard Awards
Best Soundtrack in a Feature film or Theatrical Documentary
Philip Miller
Best song or Composition in a Television Production
Joe Niemand
Best Song or Composition in a Television Commercial
Adam Howard
Best Song or Composition in a Radio Commercial
Adam Howard
Best Creative Album of the Year
Publisher of the Year Award
Sheer Publishing
Songwriter of the Year
Mi Casa
Best South African Duo/Group
The Muffinz
Best Female Artist & Composer/Co-composer
Best Male Artist & Composer/Co-composer
Ihashi Elimhlophe
Statistical Award for Live Performance and Broadcast
Nicholaas Labuschagne
Special Awards
Breaking through the Borders Award 

Joseph Shabalala
The Wawela Lifetime Achievement Award
Chicco Twala
Prolific Catalogue of Works Award 
Mandla “Spikiri” Mofokeng