S.A's sensational songwriters book their place in the spotlight


Wawela is a Zulu word meaning "go beyond", a fitting description for the talented nominees in these prestigious awards. Never before have so many South African composers, songwriters and performers made their mark as music ambassadors around the world, across a number of media formats.

We are proud to pay homage to the success of those who have put South African music on the map and to the legends of local music that have paved the way through their extraordinary lifetime achievements, said SAMRO Deputy CEO, Sipho Dlamini.


The much-anticipated WAWELA Music Awards ceremony, which takes place on 28 June 2013, is set to be an exciting and glamorous evening, with many musical stars in the South African firmament as well as major industry players in attendance.


These awards, the first of their kind in the country, are an important event on the musical calendar, said Dlamini, adding: On the night of 28 June, we.ll be gathering to give South Africa.s songwriting trailblazers the recognition that is due to them.


Today marked the announcement of the nominees in the Standard Awards section in the WAWELA Music Awards, which were open to SAMRO members. Composers were selected across a range of genres, styles and categories.


These pioneers of our music industry will be celebrated and recognised for their achievements that go beyond just commercial success, affirmed SAMRO General Manager: Marketing, Tiyani Maluleke.


A number of Special Awards will also be handed out on the night, including the Lifetime Achievement Award, the Breaking through the Borders Award, and awards for Publisher of the Year and Prolific Catalogue of Works.


Go beyond, with the Wawela Music Awards: Internationally embraced, locally awarded!

The WAWELA Standard Award nominees are:

Best soundtrack in a feature film or theatric documentary:
Daniel Baron nominated for Wrongfully Detained
Philip Miller nominated for Leaving Father
Sven Larsen nominated for Afro Slow
Best song or composition in a television production:
Alan Lazar nominated for Scandal
Gregory Reveret nominated for Loxion Kulca Roots
James Barnard nominated for Limpopo
Best song or composition in a television commercial:
David Waugh nominated for the Toyota commercial
James Barnard nominated for the Bells Whiskey commercial
Louis Enslin nominated for the Outsurance commercial
Best song or composition in a radio commercial:
James Barnard nominated for the White Star commercial
Claude Gombard nominated for the Coke Malawi commercial
Rene Veldsman nominated for the Shoprite commercial
Best creative album of the year:
Coenie De Villiers nominated for Hart van Glas
Black Porcelain nominated for Invincible Summer
LIRA nominated for Return to Love
Songwriter of the year:
Wendy Oldfield
Joshua Kempen
Best South African duo/group:
Lonehill Estate
Tumi and the Volume
The Soil
Best female artist & composer/co-composer:
Black Porcelain
Best male artist & composer/co-composer:
Daniel Baron
Johnstone Mnyandu
Claude Gombard

Note to editors:
The Southern African Music Rights Organisation (SAMRO) is proud to be hosting the inaugural Wawela Music Awards, the only awards ceremony in South Africa that rewards music creators for their outstanding international achievements. For further information on SAMRO, please visit


For more information on the WAWELA Music Awards:
Twitter: @WawelaMusic
Tel: 011 712 8505

For media interviews, access to high-res pictures and any media enquiries, please contact or call (011) 788 7632 or 083 954 6133.